Board of Directors: Members

Members of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod’s Board of Directors come from a variety of backgrounds and locales.

Membership Composition

LCMS Handbook Bylaw

The Board of Directors shall consist of no more than 15 voting members, as follows:

1. One layperson elected from each of the five designated geographical regions

2. Two ministers of religion — ordained elected at-large by the Synod in convention

3. One minister of religion — commissioned elected at-large by the Synod in convention

4. Two laypersons elected at-large by the Synod in convention

5. Up to three at-large laypersons appointed by the elected members of the Board of Directors to obtain needed additional skill sets (legal, finance, investment, administration, etc.)

6. The President and the Secretary of the Synod

With the exception of the President and the Secretary of the Synod, no more than one voting member from each category and no more than two voting members total may be elected from any one district. The First Vice-President of the Synod shall be a non-voting member.

    • Sort by
    • Last Name
    • Last Name
    • Description
    • Description
    Viewing filtered results, clear filter and view all results

    No results found

      • Sort by
      • Last Name
      • Last Name
      • Description
      • Description


      Contact information

      Individuals may communicate with the entire Board or individual Board members by sending written or electronic communications to the desired individual(s) in care of:

      Frank Simek
      LCMS Chief Administrative Officer
      1333 S. Kirkwood Road
      St. Louis, MO 63122


      In accordance with instructions from the Board, the chief administrative officer reviews all correspondence, organizes it for review by the Board or other senior staff, and posts/forwards communications to the full Board or individual directors, as appropriate. Certain items unrelated to the Board’s duties — such as spam, junk mail, mass mailings, solicitations, resumes and job inquiries — will not be forwarded.

      Join us on the journey

      Lutherans Engage the World

      Lutheran Engage the WorldEngaging the Church in the work of witness and mercy across the globe in our life together.

      Learn more


      The Lutheran Witness

      The Lutheran WitnessInterpreting the contemporary world from a Lutheran Christian perspective

      Learn more

      Vision and Mission

      Making Disciples for Life Resource Center

      Contact Us

        Email us

        Church Info Center: 888-843-5267
        Staff Switchboard: 800-248-1930
        Donor Care Line: 888-930-4438

       1333 S. Kirkwood Road, St. Louis, MO 63122-7226


      Sign-up for email updates

      The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod Inc., including Mission Central (in Mapleton, Iowa), is an IRS registered 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charity.

      A contribution designated (restricted) for a specific purpose when accepted, will be used only to fund expenses related to that purpose. Occasionally, we may receive more in contributions for a particular purpose than can be wisely applied to it in the foreseeable future or the purpose may cease to be feasible. In these situations, the LCMS will make reasonable attempts to contact contributors to apply their contribution differently. If a contributor cannot be contacted, the LCMS will use the gift to meet a similar pressing need that most closely matches the contributor's original intent. Consistent with Synod Board policy, no more than 13.5 percent of a charitable contribution may be allocated to administering gifts and communicating with contributors. Contributions received and accepted by the LCMS are deemed to be in agreement with this statement.

      Our Tax Identification Number: 43-0658188

      View Donor Transparency Resources



      Guide Star Logo BBB Logo




      Employment   |   For the Media   |   Site Map   |   Privacy   |   Social Media Directory   |   Social Media Guidelines



      © 2003 – 2010   The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. All Rights Reserved.